Here are our Australia Day award winners!

Published on Wednesday, 2 February 2022 at 3:52:00 PM

Here are our Australia Day award winners!

 A last-minute State Government requirement to wear masks at all public Australia Day events to help contain spread of Covid-19 in the community didn’t dampen the spirit of crowds who turned out for three breakfasts held across the Dardanup Shire on Wednesday.

Sincere thanks from the Shire of Dardanup goes to all the volunteers who ensured the events were a great success:

  • Eaton & Millbridge Lions
  • Dardanup Lions
  • Dardanup & Districts Residents Association
  • Burekup & Districts Country Club

Plus we would like to thank community members who graciously complied with the mask mandate.

The events were also made possible with the assistance of the Australian Government through the National Australia Day Council.

Organisers estimate a crowd at the Eaton Foreshore breakfast of approximately 500 who as well as a tasty breakfast, enjoyed live entertainment plus presentation of Citizen of the Year Awards and a Citizenship Ceremony conducted by Shire President Mick Bennett.

Congratulations to our award winners:

  • Youth – Taya Fry, Burekup
  • Community – Mary Smith, Dardanup
  • Senior – Warren Jones, Eaton
  • Group – Millbridge Lions Glen Huon Breakfast Club

In his address, Cr Bennett said: “On Australia Day we celebrate being part of a proud, ancient, multicultural nation that values the contribution of each and every citizen.

“This Australia Day, we reflect on once again being surrounded by friends, family and community.

“It is a day to respect the return of simple pleasures once taken for granted – and celebrate the act of being together, even though there are things we need to do differently now to ensure the health and safety of those around us.”

Back to All News