Building Classifications

Buildings and structures have different classifications under the Building Code of Australia which are explained as follows:

Class 1a: Single dwelling, being a detached house or one of a group of two or more attached dwellings separated by a fire resisting wall.

Class 1b: Boarding house, a guest house, a hostel or the like.

Class 10a: Non-habitable building being a private garage, carport, shed, patio roof or the like.

Class 10b: Structure being a fence, mast, retaining or free standing wall, swimming pool, water storage tank, soak wells or the like.

Class 10c: Bush fire shelter.

Class 2: Building containing 2 or more sole-occupancy units each being a separate dwelling.

Class 3: Residential building or that part of, other than a Class 1 or 2 for unrelated persons being a motel, hotel, back packers hostel and other similar accommodation.

Class 4: Dwelling in a building that is a Class 5, 6, 7, 8, or 9 if it is the only dwelling in the building.

Class 5: Office building used for commercial purposes, excluding buildings of Class 6, 7, 8 or 9.

Class 6: Shop or other building used for the sale of goods by retail or supply of services direct to the public.

Class 7a: Carpark.

Class 7b: Building used for storage, or display of goods or produce for sale by wholesale.

Class 8: Laboratory, or a building used for the process for the production, assembling, altering, repairing, packing, finishing, or cleaning of goods or produce is carried out for trade, sale or gain.

Class 9a: Public health care building.

Class 9b: Public assembly building being a laboratory, school or the like but excluding any other parts of the building that are of another Class.

Class 9c: Aged care building.