Hands up! Who wants to serve their community?

Preparation has begun behind the scenes for the Shire of Dardanup Council Election on October 21.

A Returning Officer has been appointed and five Council seats identified as open to re-election.

Existing Councillors whose terms expire in 2017 are:

  • Cr Mick Bennett
  • Cr Carmel Boyce
  • Cr Luke Davies
  • Cr Tyrrell Gardiner
  • Cr Allen Mountford

Cr Mountford has announced that he will not be renominating.

CEO Mark Chester said with nominations set to open on September 7, it was time for Shire residents to consider throwing their hat in the ring as a Council candidate.

Mr Chester said nominations were sought from residents with a variety of backgrounds and interests.

An information night for prospective councillors will be held on Thursday, August 24 at 6.30pm.

“Traditionally our Council is not evenly represented by both genders or all residential areas,” Mr Chester said.

“It would be great to see more women represented on Council and also more residents who live in the urban areas of our shire.

“But at the end of the day, what’s important is that the make-up of our Council provides a fair cross-section of the community with a variety of views and interests represented.”

If you are interested in becoming a candidate, more information can be found at www.elections.wa.gov.au

Or, visit the Councillors page of our website for contact details on individual Councillors who are always willing to share their experiences.